People working

Transitional governance arrangements


To support the creation of the organisational structure and application for Ministerial authorisation, the CSLR has a Transitional Board which will make way for an Ongoing Board – which will include the Chair to be appointed by the Minister.

The CSLR Transitional Board includes an AFCA non-executive director and will ensure continuity with the ongoing CSLR Board. It also provides a strong level of internal expertise and experience to feed into decision-making for CSLR implementation. The Transitional Board will also be able to draw on significant knowledge and experience in operational matters and considerations of associated operational impacts to AFCA prior to making decisions.

In addition to being readily available as part of their day-to-day roles, the Transitional Board also has pre-existing relationships with key government and industry stakeholders.

The Transitional Board is committed to:

  • ensuring the independence of the CSLR claims process,
  • ensuring a high standard of corporate governance
  • building a cohesive transitional Board through mutual respect and open communication, and
  • ensuring appropriate decisions are made until the ongoing Board is appointed, to ensure CSLR scheme’s timely establishment.


CSLR Transitional Board members

Interim CSLRL Director

AFCA Director

Andrew Fairley – AM LLB (Melb) Hon Doc (Deakin) FAICD & FAIST

Andrew Fairley AM was appointed an industry director of AFCA by the Minister for Revenue and Financial Services on 4 May 2018.

Andrew is a Commercial and Equity Lawyer with over 40 years experience in Superannuation and is a Consultant at Hall & Wilcox. He is the immediate past Chair of Equip Super, an industry fund with assets under management of over $30b. He founded the Law Council of Australia’s Superannuation Committee in 1985 and served as its Chair for 10 years. Andrew is the Chair of Qualitas Limited, a leading Australian alternative real estate investment manager. He is the former Chair of Zoos Victoria, Parks Victoria, and a former Deputy Chair of Tourism Australia.

He is very involved in the philanthropic sector and Chairs the Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education (FARE) and the Sir Andrew Fairley Foundation.


Interim CSLRL Director

AFCA Deputy Chief Ombudsman

Dr June Smith

Dr June Smith is a proud Kureinji woman. As an ethicist and lawyer, she is a recognised expert in Australian Integrity frameworks, including Codes of Practice, and has significant experience as an independent decision maker. 

As Deputy Chief Ombudsman of AFCA, Dr Smith leads AFCA’s approach to its Fairness Jurisdiction, including leadership of AFCA’s ombudsman, adjudication, panel, systemic issues and jurisdiction teams. Dr Smith also proudly sponsors AFCA’s work on accessibility, diversity, inclusion and belonging.

Dr Smith is on several external boards and is also on the Executive Committee of Australian New Zealand Ombudsman Association.

Dr Smith is an Adjunct Professor at Victoria University. She has a PhD in Law from Victoria University, specialising in professional and business ethics and organisational decision-making within financial services organisations. Dr Smith also holds a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Melbourne.


Interim CSLRL Director

AFCA Chief Operating Officer

Justin Untersteiner

Justin Untersteiner joined AFCA as Chief Operating Officer (COO) in December 2019 and has extensive expertise in leading large scale, significant organisational transformation programs.

Justin has held a variety of leadership roles at the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) over a 13-year career, most recently as the Assistant Commissioner of Integrated Compliance, responsible for leading the ATO’s approach to large scale, complex taxation and superannuation matters. He designed and delivered the ATO’s strategy and client experience work in the individual taxpayer market with a client base of over 10 million Australians.

Prior to this Justin was the ATO’s Chief Financial Officer, responsible for the agency’s annual budget of $3.5 billion, and has led the ATO’s Corporate Procurement and Tax Management Branch. Justin also brings valuable private sector perspectives and experience from Cadbury Schweppes and Woolworths to his role as COO.

Justin is a passionate advocate for gender equality and workplace equality and flexibility. He has worked throughout his career to build inclusive workplaces that engage, inform and support employees and has designed and implemented a variety of programs to improve outcomes for diverse workforces.


Interim CSLRL Company Secretary

AFCA Deputy Company Secretary

Dawn Logan Keeffe

Dawn Logan Keeffe is a senior governance professional who joined AFCA in 2023 from New York Stock Exchange listed Clarivate Plc, a large multinational information and data company. Dawn was Company Secretary and Senior Trademark Counsel based in Clarivate’s London office, then in Sydney.

xDawn is a lawyer and chartered company secretary, having started her career in the UK as an intellectual property attorney. She has had extensive experience in Australia and the UK, working in top-tier intellectual property legal practices and in governance and legal counsel roles for large, global corporate entities.